The story around the story.

Perhaps it was the Linked-In conversation about how to respond to questions about unanswered prayer. Perhaps it was my colleague SP’s blog pointing to the lawyer and the word ‘life’ in his conversation with Jesus. Perhaps it was both. In any case I’ve been blessed with a new focus on the over know Good Samaritan story, the conversation between Jesus and the Lawyer. The lawyer is presented as educated and pious. Perhaps he is out to cover his bets, perhaps he has heard enough about Jesus to be curious what-ever, he engages Jesus in conversation:

 

Teacher what must I do to inherit eternal life?

What does the Law say?

Love God with all your heart, soul, strength and mind, and your neighbor.

That’s right, go and do it.

But, Who is my neighbor?

Jesus tells the parable of the good Samaritan, ending with the question

Who was the neighbor to the injured man?

The one who showed him mercy.

That’s right, go and do likewise.

 

I know this conversation. I’ve had it, oh I don’t know how many times. Not between me and someone seeking spiritual guidance; no, between me and God.  I know what to do. I just don’t want to do it. Maybe I’m afraid. Maybe I’m embarrassed, or think I’m unprepared, or don’t have the skills, or am aware of the conflict between Godly values, and worldly values; I just don’t want to do it. So I pray for guidance. God answers “Go.”

I don’t want to so I find some objection. God answers “Go.”

 

I am still hesitant.

The reply …….

 

Leave a Reply

