What was that verse I’d not seen before?

We always begin our vestry meetings with a modified form of the African Bible Study, and ‘cause yesterday’s Gospel reading from the daily lectionary is so well know I asked:  What verse have you not seen before? We had a lively discussion.

This morning as I read the appointed passage from 1 Samuel I noticed a phrase I don’t recall, it is response for a lyre player to calm Saul when the evil spirit is upon him.  The tale continues:

 ‘I have seen a son of Jesse the Bethlehemite who is skilful in playing, a man of valour, a warrior, prudent in speech, and a man of good presence; and the Lord is with him.’ So Saul sent messengers to Jesse, and said, ‘Send me your son David who is with the sheep.’

Just having heard David described as “a man of valour, a warrior, prudent in speech, and a man of good presence,” how does Saul know David is with the sheep?

It’s not the answer that inspires this thought, rather, it is our tendency to read what we know, and not read what the text says.

Moreover, today is the observance of Benedict, and as I read the short history provided by James Kiefer, I noticed the 5 hours a day in reading and study his rules set forth, I began to realize I probably ought to slow down, read, study and listen to the text.

Of course this blog comes when it does as the day started with 8:00 am prayer meeting, followed by Daily prayers, a mid-morning board meeting, a related lunch obligation, thank-yous re Tuesday’s funeral, orders of service, a letter to the bishop generated by last night’s vestry meeting, a few last minute odds and in, and the sudden realization the reminder for the blog didn’t remind. And oh yea, I’ve yet to read commentaries for Sunday.

What was that verse I’d not seen before?

Leave a Reply

