And now …

It was 2:30 am Wednesday morning when I headed to bed after a difficult evening watching election returns. Only then did I remember I was scheduled to share a devotion for the Ministerial Alliance. My notes said Thanksgiving, so I looked up the lectionary reading and there found Philippians 4:4-11

4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. 5 Let your gentleness be known to everyone. The Lord is near. 6 Do not worry about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

8 Finally, beloved, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is pleasing, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. 9 Keep on doing the things that you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, and the God of peace will be with you. (NRSV)

Immediately I felt some release of fear; I am still concerned for my daughters, grand-daughters, friends of color, non /Christian faiths, and differing life styles. My gleaning is to engage violations of or threats to justice and liberty for all from prayerful, thoughtful, and the peace of God. I suggest this is also a faithful stance for those whose candidates won.

This morning I did as I have done for the last couple of decades, pray by name for my elected leaders including Trump and Pence, simply raising them to God, trusting God guidance. After prayers, I will seek to be prayerful, be peaceful, be thoughtful and be engaged.

 

2 thoughts on “And now …

  1. Thank you Scott. I wish we could go back to Oxford now and replay our Freshman year. I know I would enjoy hearing your insight into so many issues. God bless you for your spiritual leadership!

Leave a Reply

