Veterans Day

Today is Armistice Day marking the end of WWI. It is also Veterans Day when we honor all those who have fought for our republic and liberty and justice for all. To recognize the work of all veterans I call upon both Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton to publicly disclaim the violent actions of their supporters. I have said I was glad I voted, because even though the results are not what I sought, I did not feel at risk. Having read this morning’s papers, I have to retract that statement. Riots in the streets because we lost is deplorable behavior and does not contribute to the changes that are necessary, nor prevent changes we fear. The truants, threats and violence against people, who are different than Trump’s supporters, does not contribute to conservative causes and is contrary to the bible that directs God’s people to

  • love the alien (stranger) who resides with you for you were aliens (strangers) in Egypt (Deuteronomy 10:19) and
  • not oppress the alien. The alien who resides with you shall be to you as the citizen among you; you shall love the alien as yourself, for you were aliens in the land of Egypt (Leviticus 19:33-34)

I do not know what our future holds. I am concerned for my wife, daughters and granddaughters, and friends who may now be targets. I am concerned for those who, for the last several decades, have been and still are disposed of vitality. I do know a future that brings liberty, justice, and prosperity to all begins by working together from love and respect.

JST+

Leave a Reply

